Skip to content

Lastest FAQ

DESIGNER'S COMMENTARY MAY 2024

The following designer's commentary is intended to complement the Blood Bowl rulebook, any issues of Spike! Journal, and any supplements associated with the Second Season Edition of the game. It is presented as a series of questions and answers; the questions are based on ones that have been asked by players, and the answers are provided by the rules writing team and explain how the rules are intended to be used. The commentaries help provide a default setting for your games, but players should always feel free to discuss the rules before a game, and change things as they see fit if they both want to do so (changes like this are usually referred to as 'house rules').

BLOOD BOWL RULEBOOK

Q: If both coaches have an Inducement, Skill, Trait, etc., that takes place at the end of a team turn, whose will resolve first? (p.23)

A: The coach whose team turn has just taken place will resolve any Inducements, Skills, Traits, etc., that they have first, then their opponent will resolve any of theirs.


Q: Can a team use more than one team re-roll in the same team turn? (p.24)

A: Yes. Though be careful as if you use them all early on in a half you will be facing quite a few turns without any! Remember that you can never re-roll a re-roll.


Q: Are team re-rolls that are not spent during the first half lost for the second half as it states that only spent team re-rolls are replenished and unused ones are not carried over? (p.24)

A: No. What this means is that a team will always start each half with their full complement of team re-rolls and those that are not spent in the first half cannot then be saved to add on to your store of team re-rolls. A team that starts the first half with 3 team re-rolls, will also start the second half with 3 re-rolls.


Q: If a player re-rolls a single dice from a dice pool with a Skill (e.g., Brawler), can they then use a team re-roll to allow them to re-roll the other dice from the same dice pool? (p.24)

A: No.


Q: What exactly can a team re-roll be used to re-roll? (p.24)

A: A team re-roll can only be used when a team is active and during its own team turn. It can be used to re-roll all the dice in a dice pool that were rolled during their team turn including any dice pools rolled for any Skills or Traits used during that team turn. A team re-roll may not be used to re-roll the following rolls: Deviation, Scatter, Bounce, Armour, Injury, Casualty, Throw in, Bribes, and Argue the Call.


Q: Can I use a team re-roll to force an opposing coach to re-roll a dice in any circumstances? (p.24)

A: No.


Q: If a player is bitten by a Vampire as a result of a failed Bloodlust roll and becomes Stunned (even if already Stunned), do they roll over and become Prone at the end of the turn in which they were Stunned, or the following turn? (p.27)

A: At the end of the following turn.


Q: If a player with a PA of 1+ scores a 1 for a Passing Ability test, after modifiers have been applied, is this still an Accurate Pass? (p.29)

A: Yes.


Q: Can a team remove a team re-roll from their roster during a league in order to lower their Team Value? (p.34)

A: No. Once a team re-roll has been bought it is permanent for the duration of the league.


Q: When the Sweltering Heat result is rolled on the Weather table, is a single D3 rolled to determine the number of players from each team affected, or do both coaches roll a separate D3? (p.37)

A: A single D3 is rolled and the same result is applied to each team.


Q: If a team has fewer than 11 available players for a game, are they required to take on enough Journeymen to take their team temporarily to 11 before taking other Inducements such as Star Players? (p.38)

A: Yes.


Q: After purchasing Inducements, do you add the value of the Inducements to your Current Team Value (CTV) when recalculating your CTV to determine which team is the "Underdog"? (p.38)

A: Yes.


Q: If two teams have the same CTV, do either team gain Inducements and can either team spend gold pieces from their Treasury? (p.38)

A: No to both questions.


Q: During the Determine Kicking Team step, does the team that wins the coin toss or roll-off automatically become the kicking team, or may they choose to be either the kicking or receiving team? (p.38)

A: They may choose.


Q: If a team with the Low Cost Linemen special rule is forced to take on Journeymen, does the value of the Journeymen increase the Current Team Value of the team? (p.38 & 106)

A: No.


Q: Do Inducements purchased at step 4 of the pre-game sequence add to a team's Current Team Value (CTV) when CTV is recalculated when working out which team is the Underdog? (p.38)

A: Yes.


Q: If a player is Sent-off as a result of Too Many Players, can their coach Argue the Call or use a Bribe to avoid them being Sent-off? (p.40)

A: Yes, however, players that avoid being Sent-off in this manner do not stay on the pitch and will instead be placed in the Reserves box.


Q: When a team sets up additional players on the pitch as a result of the Swarming trait, and this takes the number of players on the pitch to above 11, can players on that team be Sent-off as per the Too Many Players rule during that drive? (p.40 & 87)

A: No. The Too Many Players rule is used when there are more players than the team is allowed on the pitch (usually 11). The Swarming trait increases the number of players that team is allowed to field by D3 for the duration of the drive so, as long as the team does not exceed the new limit, their players cannot be Sent-off for Too Many Players. If there are any players fielded above the new limit for the Swarming team, they can be Sent-off for Too Many Players as normal.


Q: What happens if a team cannot nominate a kicking player as all their players are either on the Line of Scrimmage or in a Wide Zone? (p.40)

A: In this instance, simply nominate a player on the Line of Scrimmage instead.


Q: If I roll a Blitz result on the Kick-off Event table, it states I am allowed to activate D3+3 Open players. Do these players need to be Open when the Kick-off event is rolled, or can I activate players that become Open during the Blitz, such as if a player pushes an opposition player away from a team-mate so that they are now Open? (p.41)

A: They must be Open at the time of the Kick off event.


Q: During a Blitz result on the Kick-off Event table, if a player from the receiving team is Knocked Down does this end the Blitz? (p.41)

A: No.


Q: If, during a Blitz kick-off event, a player with the Animal Savagery trait knocks down a player on their team as part of the Animal Savagery trait, will that cause the Blitz kick-off event to immediately end? (p.41 & p.81)

A: No.


Q: When a Blitz result is rolled on the Kick-off Event table, it states one player may perform a Blitz action and one may perform a Throw Team-mate action. Are these included in the D3+3 players that can be activated, or in addition? (p.41)

A: These are included as part of the D3+3.


Q: During a Blitz result on the Kick-Off Event table, can I use a team re-roll? (p.41)

A: No. A Kick-Off Blitz isn't a team turn. It represents the kicking team springing into action ahead of the receiving team.


Q: Can a coach attempt to Argue the Call if a player is Sent-off as a result of the Officious Ref result on the Kick-off Event table? (p.41)

A: No.


Q: Can a Bribe be used to prevent a player being Sent-off as a result of the Officious Ref Kick-off event? (p.41)

A: No.


Q: If a tie is rolled for a Pitch Invasion on the Kick-off Event table, is a single D3 rolled to determine the number of players from each team affected, or do both coaches roll a separate D3? (p.41)

A: A single D3 is rolled and the same result is applied to each team.


Q: The rules for team turns state that a team turn ends when all eligible players have been activated. However, the rules for player activations state that coaches are not obliged to activate every player. Does this mean that coaches can choose to end their team turn without activating all of their eligible players if they wish? (p.42)

A: Yes.


Q: Can a player that performed a Special action also make a Move action before or after performing the Special action? (p.43)

A: No, unless the Special action in question specifically states otherwise or is performed as part of a Blitz action (if applicable). Note that some Special actions that can be used as part of a Blitz action also state that the player cannot move after performing the Special action.


Q: Can a player with a MA of 2 or less attempt to Rush to Stand Up instead of attempting to roll a 4+ to stand up? (p.44)

A: No.


Q: Can the Pro skill be used to re-roll the dice when a player attempts to stand up? (p.44)

A: No.


Q: Does a player who has the Jump Up skill still need to roll to stand up if they also have a Movement Allowance of 2 or less? (p.44 & 75)

A: No.


Q: If a player that wishes to Jump over another player has no Movement Allowance remaining, can they Rush to Jump over the player? If so, how many Rush rolls are required? (p.45)

A: Yes. Two Rush rolls will be required, one for each space moved. If the first Rush roll is failed, the player will Fall Over in the square they were in rather than the one they were attempting to Jump into.


Q: What exactly is a Blitz action? (p.46)

A: A Blitz action is a single declared action that comprises both a Move action and a Block action. If a player that declared a Blitz action is forced to lose its action, then it will lose the entire Blitz action.


Q: Does a player that has declared a Blitz action have to perform a Block action as part of their Blitz action, or can they choose not to? (p.46)

A: They may choose not to. However, this will still use the team's Blitz action for that turn.


Q: Can a player declare a Blitz action even if they have no target in range? (p.46)

A: Yes. They must still declare a target of the Block action (even if the target is not in range), and this will still use the team's Blitz action for the turn.


Q: When a player declares an opposition player as the target of a Blitz action, can they change their mind during the Blitz action and instead make the Block action against a different player? (p.46)

A: No. When a player declares a Blitz action against an opposition player, the targeted player is the only player they may perform the Block action against. They may choose not to make the Block action at all, though the team's Blitz action for the turn is still used.


Q: Can a player make a Pass action to an adjacent friendly player? (p.48)

A: Yes.


Q: When making a Passing Ability test, if the roll is not a natural 1, but is reduced to less than 1 after modifiers have been applied, is this an inaccurate pass or a wildly inaccurate pass? (p.49)

A: This will be a wildly inaccurate pass.


Q: If an inaccurate or wildly inaccurate pass goes out of bounds, do you roll for passing interference before or after the throw-in? If before, where do you count the ball as for the purpose of placing the range ruler to determine which players can attempt to interfere? (p. 50)

A: Before. When placing the range ruler to determine which players can attempt to interfere, treat the ball as occupying the last square it was over before going out of bounds.


Q: When resolving a Throw-in, is the square which has the Blood Bowl logo from the Throw-in template on it treated as the first square along the path, or is it treated as 'square 0' and the distance is measured from that square? (p.51)

A: It is treated as square 0.


Q: If a thrown player lands in an occupied square and then subsequently bounces into another occupied square, is the player that is in the new occupied square also Knocked Down? (p.54)

A: Yes.


Q: If a player with the Mighty Blow (+X) skill makes a Block action, and chooses the Both Down result and is Knocked Down themselves, can they still apply the effects of Mighty Blow (+X)? (p.57 & 80)

A: No, as when the Armour roll is made for the opposition player, the player with Mighty Blow (+X) is Prone and so cannot use the skill.


Q: When a player makes a Blitz action, do they have to nominate the target of the Block action before the player is moved? (p.59)

A: Yes.


Q: If a player that is Stunned becomes Stunned again, what happens? (p.60)

A: If a player begins their team turn Stunned, they will automatically roll over and become Prone at the end of the turn.


Q: What happens if a player suffers a characteristic reduction as the result of an injury, but the characteristic that would be reduced is already at its minimum value? For example, a ST 1 player that suffers a Dislocated Shoulder (-1 ST). (p.61)

A: If a player that suffers a characteristic reduction is already at their minimum value, it cannot be reduced further. Instead, roll again on the Lasting Injury table until a different result that can be applied is rolled.


Q: If a player with a Passing Ability of 6+ suffers a Broken Arm and has their PA reduced by 1, what happens? (p.61)

A: Characteristics can ever be reduced below the minimum value shown on page 28 of the Blood Bowl Rulebook, so nothing would happen.


Q: If a player is Sent-off, which happens first: using a Bribe, Argue the Call, or is the order up to the Sent-off player's coach? (p.63 & 91)

A: Argue the Call will always happen first, followed by any Bribes (if able).


Q: Do I have to Argue the Call in order to use a Bribe? (p.63 & 91)

A: No, but should the Bribe fail, you cannot then attempt to Argue the Call as the chance to do so has passed.


Q: If a coach is ejected for having rolled a 1 when attempting to Argue the Call, are they only prevented from using a Bribe Inducement for that one sending off, or for the rest of the game? (p.63 & 91)

A: Just for that particular sending off.


Q: During the End of Drive Sequence, what happens first: players are Sent-off for the Secret Weapon trait, or any end of drive weather effects (such as Sweltering Heat)? (p.66)

A: During the End of Drive Sequence Secret Weapons are always Sent off before any other effects.


Q: Can you clarify what the penalties are for conceding a game? (p.67)

A: If a player concedes a match, they immediately lose the game. Then, follow the procedure outlined on page 67 of the Blood Bowl Rulebook.


Q: If a game goes to extra time, how many additional turns are taken by each coach? (p.67)

A: Each coach will take 8 team turns.


Q: If a player makes a superb Kick Team-mate Special action, does it generate Star Player Points like a Throw Team-mate Special action? (p.70)

A: No.


Q: If a player converts a Deflection into an Interception, will they gain 2 Star Player Points for the Interception, or 3 Star Player Points - 2 for the Interception, and 1 for the initial Deflection? (p.70)

A: They will gain 2 Star Player Points for the Interception.


Q: In League Play, are Infamous Coaching Staff and Infamous Sideline Staff who play in the game, such as Josef Bugman, eligible for the MVP award? (p.70 & 93)

A: No. Though these folk might think of themselves as players, they are coaches and support staff – infamous ones at that!


Q: What happens when a player with a PA of 4-J rolls an improvement to its PA? (p.71)

A: Either choose another listed option or improve its PA to 6+.


Q: If a player randomly selects a characteristic improvement, and then decides they do not want to take the characteristic improvement they have rolled, they can instead take a Secondary skill. Could they instead choose a Primary skill if they wanted? (p.71)

A: Yes.


Q: If I hire a Journeyman that gained an advancement during Step 3 of the post-game sequence, how much do they cost to hire? (p.72)

A: They will cost the same as their Current Value, including the cost of any advancements gained.


Q: What happens if a player rolls a random Skill and gains one that they could take, but cannot actually use? Such as if a player with the No Hands trait gained the Catch skill. (p.74)

A: In these instances, roll again until they gain a Skill they could actually use.


Q: If a player with an AV of 8+ (or worse) randomly gains the Iron Hard Skin skill, does this count as them gaining a Skill they cannot use as the Skill will have no effect? (p.74)

A: Yes. They may re-roll


Q: Can players that are Prone, Stunned, or have lost their Tackle Zone still use skills such as Dodge, Block, Sidestep or Wrestle (amongst others)? (p.74)

A: No. A player that is Prone, Stunned, or has lost their Tackle Zone cannot use any Skills or Traits unless it is specifically stated in the description of that Skill or Trait.


Q: Can the Catch skill be used when attempting to catch a Bomb? (p.75)

A: No, a Bomb is not a ball.


Q: What happens if a player already has the Catch skill or the Monstrous Mouth skill and randomly rolls the other Skill? (p.75 & 78)

A: If a player has the Monstrous Mouth skill and subsequently rolls the Catch skill, then they should re-roll. If a player has the Catch skill and subsequently rolls the Monstrous Mouth skill, then they may not re-roll, as the Monstrous Mouth skill provides an additional benefit.


Q: If a player with the Diving Catch skill attempts to catch the ball when it is landing in an adjacent square and fails, does the ball bounce from the player who failed the catch, or from where it was going to initially land? (p.75)

A: The ball will bounce from where it was initially going to land.


Q: If a player attempts to Dodge away from a player with the Diving Tackle skill and fails the original Dodge roll, but then uses a re-roll and succeeds, can the player with Diving Tackle use this Skill on the re-rolled attempt? (p.75)

A: Yes.


Q: If a player with the Leap skill or Pogo Stick trait has used all of their Movement Allowance and is attempting to use the Leap skill or Pogo Stick trait to jump over a square, what happens if they fail the Rush roll? (p.75 & 85)

A: If the Rush fails, then the player will fall over in the square they have moved into, do not roll the Agility test for the jumping player.


Q: Can a player with the Sneaky Git skill that performs a Foul action still be Sent-off if it rolls a natural double on the Injury roll? (p.75)

A: Yes.


Q: What happens if the ball lands in the Tackle Zones of multiple players from the same team with the Diving Catch skill? (p.75)

A: Each player may attempt to catch the ball, in an order chosen by the controlling coach.


Q: What happens if the ball lands in the Tackle Zones of multiple players from opposing teams with the Diving Catch skill? (p.75)

A: Each player may attempt to catch the ball, in an order chosen by the controlling coach.


Q. Can the Dodge skill be used on moves outside of a player's activation, such as those provided from On the Ball, or the Blitz result on the Kick-off Event table? (p.75)

A: No. The Dodge skill can only be used to re-roll a Dodge roll during that player's activation during their own team turn.


Q: If a player with the Safe Pair of Hands skill is targeted by a Block action performed by a player with the Strip Ball skill, and they suffer a Push Back result, can they still use Safe Pair of Hands? (p.75)

A: No.


Q: If a player with the Safe Pair of Hands skill is Knocked Down, and there are no empty squares for them to put the ball into, what happens? (p.75)

A: The Safe Pair of Hands skill cannot be used in this instance, and so the ball will bounce as normal.


Q: Can the Sure Feet skill be used on moves outside of a player's activation, such as those provided from the Blitz result on the Kick-off Event table? (p.75)

A: No. The Sure Feet skill can only be used during that player's activation.


Q: Can a Biased Referee be used against an opposition player with Sneaky Git that rolled a double for the Armour roll, and was not Sent-off due to the Sneaky Git skill? (p.75 & 95)

A: Yes.


Q: If a player with the Animal Savagery trait also has the Jump Up skill, do they still get the +2 to the roll if they wish to attempt to make a Block action while prone? (p.75 & 81)

A: Yes.


Q: If a player has both the Jump Up skill and the Stab trait, can they use the Jump Up skill to allow them to make a Block action from Prone on a 2+ and then replace this Block action with a Stab Special action? (p.75 & 86)

A: Yes.


Q: If a player with the Frenzy skill performs a Block action against a Rooted player and rolls a Push Back, does the player with Frenzy still get to perform a second Block even though the Rooted player cannot be pushed back? (p.77 & 87)

A: Yes.


Q: When a player with the Dauntless skill declares a Block action, can they choose to not perform the Block action if they do not roll the desired result for the Dauntless skill? (p.76)

A: No, they must still perform the Block action.


Q: Can a player with the Pro skill use the re-roll outside of their activation - for example, to Catch or Intercept the ball? (p.77)

A: No. The Pro skill can only be used during that player's activation.


Q: What exactly can the Pro skill be used to re-roll? (p.77)

A: The Pro skill can be used to re-roll a single dice rolled by that player, either on its own, as part of a multiple roll, or as part of a dice pool. It cannot be used to re-roll a dice that was rolled as part of an Armour, Injury or Casualty roll, a roll that is not made during its own activation (such as Regeneration) or a dice that is not rolled on behalf of the player specifically (such as a Bribe or Argue the Call).


Q: A player with both the Pro skill and Brawler skill performs Block, rolls two Block Dice and rolls Both Down on both dice, can the controlling coach choose to use Brawler on one of the dice, and then subsequently attempt to use Pro on the other dice that has not yet been re-rolled? (p.77 & 80)

A: Yes, so long as the same dice is not re-rolled more than once.


Q: If a player attempts to Dodge away from a player with the Shadowing skill, which roll happens first: the Dodge roll or the roll for Shadowing? (p.77)

A: The Dodge roll will happen first, and once the Dodge has been resolved the opposing player may roll for Shadowing if they wish.


Q: If a player has both the Pro and Brawler skills, can they re-roll a single Both Down result for the Brawler skill, and then use the Pro skill to attempt to re-roll another dice from the same dice pool? (p.77 & 80)

A: Yes, so long as the same dice isn't re-rolled more than once.


Q: When a player with the Frenzy skill makes a Block action against a player with Foul Appearance, if the first Block action results in the player following up and performing a second Block action, do they need to make another roll for Foul Appearance? (p.77 & 78)

A: Yes.


Q: If a player with the Strip Ball skill rolls a Push Back result against a player who is holding the ball, and that player is pushed into the End Zone, do they score a touchdown as described on page 64? (p.77)

A: No.


Q: Can the Strip Ball skill be used to make a player who used the Stand Firm skill drop the ball? (p.77 & 80)

A: Yes, if the player chooses not to be pushed back, they will drop the ball in the square they are standing in.


Q: If a player has both the Frenzy skill and the Stab trait, if they declare a Block action which results in a Pushed Back result when they follow up and have to perform a second Block action, can they then use the Stab trait to replace the second Block action with the Stab Special action? (p.77 & 86)

A: Yes.


Q: Can a player with both the Claws and Mighty Blow (+X) skills use them together to allow them to break an opposition player's armour on less than 8+ provided by the Claws skill? (p.78 & 80)

A: No.


Q: If a player with the Foul Appearance skill is chosen as the target of a Blitz action, when do they roll to see if the action is wasted? (p.78)

A: As soon as the Blitz action is declared. This will mean that, if they fail, they will lose their entire action and will be unable to make either the Move action or Block action as part of the Blitz action.


Q: If a player with the Foul Appearance skill is chosen as the target of a Foul action, does the player that declared them as the target of a Foul action have to make the roll for Foul Appearance? (p.78)

A: No, as Foul Appearance only triggers when the player is chosen as the target of either a Block action or a Special action.


Q: If a player uses the Ball & Chain Move special action and moves out of the Tackle Zone of a player with the Tentacles skill, does the player with Tentacles get to use the Skill? (p.78 & 82)

A: No.


Q: If a player with a Trait that requires them to roll a dice to see if they can activate normally (such as Bone Head or Unchanneled Fury) and wishes to declare a player with either the Foul Appearance or Dump-off skills as the target of an action, do they roll for their Trait or for the opposing player's Skill first? (p.78 & 79)

A: The player will first nominate the target of their action, then roll for their Trait and then the opposing player will use their Skill


Q: Can a player with both the Dump-off and the Pass skills use the Pass skill when making a Pass action as part of the Dump- off skill? (p.79)

A: Yes.


Q: When a player with the Dump-off skill is nominated as the target of a Blitz action, when do they make their Quick Pass action? (p.79)

A: As soon as they are nominated as the target of the Blitz action.


Q: Can multiple players from the same team use the On The Ball skill in response to the same Pass action? If so, what happens if one of them Falls Over before the others have been able to use the On The Ball skill? (p.79)

A: Yes. However, if one player Falls Over before the others have been able to use the On The Ball skill then the sequence ends and no further players can move.


Q: Can any of the Passing skills that are used when performing a Pass action also be used when performing a Throw Team-mate action? (p.79)

A: No.


Q: Is a Hail Mary Pass treated as a Long bomb when determining any modifiers for testing for accuracy? (p.79) A: Yes.


Q: If a player with the Leader re-roll is removed from the pitch before their Leader re-roll has been used, then the re-roll would be lost. If the player would subsequently return to the pitch (such as recovering from being KO'd), is the re-roll available again? (p.79)

A: Yes.


Q: If multiple players on a team have the On the Ball skill, can they all move if an opposition player declares a Pass action? (p.79)

A: Yes, if their controlling coach wishes.


Q: When exactly can a player with Running Pass move after the pass is resolved? (p.79)

A: After the ball is successfully caught, provided no Turnover was caused.


Q: Does the Cannoneer skill still apply when a player makes a Hail Mary Pass? (p.79)

A: Yes.


Q: If a player with the Safe Pass skill and Running Pass skill fumbles a Pass action, does their activation end or can they make use of Running Pass? (p.79)

A: Their activation will end.


Q: If a player with the Fumblerooskie skill begins their Activation without the ball, and then picks it up during their Activation, can they still use the Fumblerooskie skill during their Activation? (p.79)

A: Yes.


Q: What happens when a player with the Bombardier trait and the Safe Pass skill fumbles a throw when making a Throw Bomb Special action? (p.79 & 83)

A: The bomb will not be dropped and will not explode in the player's hands. The player's activation will still end.


Q: Can a player with both the Bombardier trait and the Dump- off skill use the Dump-off skill to perform a Throw Bomb Special action when they are chosen as the target of a Block Action? (p.79 & 83)

A: No.


Q: Can a player who made a Throw Bomb Special action still use the Running Pass skill to move after throwing the bomb? (p.79 & 83)

A: Yes.


Q: Brawler states that a player can use this skill when making a Block action on its own (but not as part of a Blitz action). Can a player with this skill use it when it has an assist from a friendly player? (p.80)

A: Yes. The 'on its own' part simply means it can only be used as a regular Block action, and not part of another action that includes a Block (such as a Blitz action).


Q: Can a player with the Grab skill choose not to use it if they wish? (p.80)

A: Yes. Remember that only Skills and Traits marked with an * are compulsory.


Q: Can a player with the Guard skill still provide offensive and defensive assists when they have lost their Tackle Zone? (p.80)

A: No.


Q: Can the Guard skill be used to provide offensive and defensive assists when a player is performing a Foul action? (p.80)

A: Yes.


Q: If a player that is performing a Block action against a player with the Mighty Blow (+1) skill rolls the Player Down! result, can the defending player use the Mighty Blow (+1) skill? (p.80)

A: No, as the player with the Mighty Blow (+1) skill has not performed the Block action.


Q: If a player with Multiple Block also has the Grab skill, can they place the second opposition player that they Blocked into the square that was initially occupied by the first opposition player that they Blocked? (p.80)

A: No, as both Block actions happen simultaneously.


Q: If a player has both the Mighty Blow (+X) skill and the Claws trait, they cannot use the Mighty Blow (+X) skill to modify the Armour roll due to Claws, but can they still use it to modify the Injury roll? (p.80)

A: Yes.


Q: When a player with the Multiple Block skill declares two adjacent opposing players the target of their Block, do both opponents grant defensive assists to each other if there are no other players from the active team marking them? (p.80)

A: No.


Q: The Pile Driver skill states that the player performing the Block action may then perform a 'free' Foul action against the Knocked Down player. Does this 'free' Foul action mean that it does not count towards the team's one Foul action per turn, or does it mean that the player can perform this action for free? (p.80)

A: This means that the player may perform this action for free This Skill cannot be used if the team has already used their Foul action for that team turn, and if used will mean that another player cannot also make a Foul action during the same team turn.


Q: Does the free Foul action from Pile Driver happen before or after making the Armour roll (and potentially an Injury roll) for the player being Knocked Down? (p.80)

A: After - so long as the player is still on the pitch, of course!


Q: Can the Stab trait be used in conjunction with the Multiple Block skill to make two Stab Special actions? (p.80 & 86)

A: Yes.


Q: If my player with Animal Savagery trait lashes out against my own teammate and also has the Pile Driver skill, is my opponent able to make me perform a foul against my own teammate? (p.81)

A: No, they cannot force you to use the Pile Driver skill.


Q: If a player with Animal Savagery knocks down a friendly model, are they forced to use Claws, Piledriver, Mighty Blow (X+) (or any other Skills that would affect Armour or Injury rolls), or can they choose not to? (p.81)

A: The only Skills the opposing coach may choose for the player with Animal Savagery to use are Claws and Mighty Blow (+X). In this case, treat the Knock Down as being the result of a Block action.


Q: If a player with Animal Savagery knocks down a team- mate that hasn't yet activated during that team turn, can the Knocked Down player still activate provided they haven't been Stunned or removed from the pitch? (p.81)

A: Yes.


Q: Will a Prone player that fails its roll for Animal Savagery still lash out against a team-mate? (p.81)

A: Yes.


Q: If a model with the Animal Savagery trait wishes to use the Hypnotic Gaze trait, will the bonus +2 to their Animal Savagery roll as if they were performing a Block or a Blitz action? (p.81 & 85)

A: No.


Q: Does a player with the Animosity (X) trait make the roll to see whether they can perform a Pass action or Hand-off action to the relevant player at the start of their activation or just before attempting the desired action? (p.81)

A: Animosity (X) states when they attempt to perform the action, so the roll will be made immediately before they attempt to perform the action, not at the start of their activation.


Q: Can a player with the Ball and Chain trait declare a Foul action? (p.82)

A: No, the only action a player with the Ball and Chain trait can perform is a 'Ball and Chain Move' special action.


Q: If a player with the Ball and Chain trait rolls the Piledriver skill as a random Skill, can they re-roll it? (p.82)

A: Yes.


Q: Does a player with Ball and Chain trait generate Star Player Points if they cause a Casualty as part of a Block action performed during a 'Ball and Chain Move' Special action? (p.82)

A: Yes.


Q: Can a player with the Ball and Chain trait use the Brawler skill? (p.82)

A: Yes.


Q: Does a player with the Ball and Chain trait have to use their full Movement Allowance? (p.82)

A: No.


Q: What assists, if any, does a Ball and Chain player receive when they are forced to Block a friendly player as per the Ball and Chain Move Special action? (p.82)

A: None.


Q: If a player with the Ball and Chain trait performs a Block action against a team-mate as a result of the Ball and Chain Move Special action, which coach chooses the result of the Block action? (p.82)

A: The coach of the player performing the Block action.


Q: If a player with the Ball and Chain trait moves into a square occupied by a Prone or Stunned player, does the resulting Armour roll benefit from the Mighty Blow (+X) skill if applicable? (p.82)

A: No, as in this instance a Block action wasn't made.


Q: Do Skills that apply to the ball, but are not part of a Pass action (such as Fumblerooskie), also apply to a bomb? (p.83)

A: No, because a bomb is not a ball.


Q: Can a player use a re-roll of any kind (team re-roll, Pro, etc.) to re-roll to see if a bomb that was caught will explode? (p.83)

A: No.


Q: If a player Deflects a Bomb, but fails to convert it into an Interception, will it scatter from the square they are in or will they drop it? (p.83)

A: It will scatter from the square they are in in the same manner as a Deflected ball.


Q: When using the Bombardier trait, can a re-roll be used when determining if a bomb that is caught explodes? (p.83)

A: No.


Q: If a player making a Throw Bomb Special action fumbles the Bomb, does this cause a Turnover? (p.83)

A: No.


Q: Can a player with the Chainsaw trait choose to perform a standard Block action instead of a Chainsaw Attack Special action? (p.84)

A: Yes.


Q: When a player with the Chainsaw trait uses their chainsaw as part of a Foul action, will they still be subjected to the same offensive assists and defensive assists as a normal Foul action? (p.84)

A: Yes.


Q: Can a player with the Hypnotic Gaze trait perform the Hypnotic Gaze Special action in the same activation in which they declared a Block action, Blitz action, Foul action or Pass action? (p.85)

A: No. Hypnotic Gaze is a Special action, and therefore must be declared at the start of a player's activation like all other actions (p.42). The Hypnotic Gaze Special action allows a player to move before they perform the Hypnotic Gaze Special action if they wish.


Q: Does a player who has lost their Tackle Zone as a result of the Hypnotic Gaze trait have to drop the ball? (p.85)

A: No.


Q: Does a player with the Hypnotic Gaze trait, who targets a player with the Foul Appearance skill, need to roll for Foul Appearance before performing the Hypnotic Gaze special action? (p.85)

A: Yes.


Q: Does a player that declared a Hypnotic Gaze Special action have to declare the target of the Hypnotic Gaze when they are activated before they move? (p.85)

A: Yes.


Q: Can a player use a team re-roll to re-roll a failed Loner (X+) roll? (p.85)

A: No.


Q: Can a player with the No Hands trait attempt to interfere with a Pass action in order to automatically fail and force the ball to bounce? (p.85)

A: No.


Q: Does a player with the Pogo Stick trait still suffer the -1 modifier to their Agility test when attempting to Leap away from a player with the Prehensile Tail mutation? (p.85)

A: No, a player with the Pogo Stick trait ignores all negative modifiers applied for being Marked when attempting to Leap.


Q: Does a player with the Pogo Stick trait still suffer the -2 modifier to their Agility test when attempting to Leap away from a player who uses the Diving Tackle skill? (p.85)

A: No, a player with the Pogo Stick trait ignores all negative modifiers applied for being Marked when attempting to Leap.


Q: Can a team re-roll be used to re-roll a Regeneration roll under any circumstances? (p.86)

A: No.


Q: If a player suffers a Casualty, and then rolls a 4+ for their Regeneration trait allowing them not to suffer the Casualty, does the player that inflicted the Casualty still gain Star Player Points for inflicting a Casualty? (p.86)

A: Yes.


Q: The Secret Weapon trait states that at the end of a drive in which they participated they will be Sent-off for committing a Foul. Does this mean that you can Argue the Call in this instance? (p.86)

A: Yes.


Q: Can a Prone player who becomes Rooted still stand up? (p.87)

A: Yes.


Q: Can a player that has been Rooted as per the Take Root trait use a skill such as Pile Driver or Wrestle in order to place themselves Prone and therefore no longer be Rooted? (p.87)

A: Yes.


Q: When using a Bribe, can I use additional Bribes if the first one fails? (p.91)

A: Yes. What kind of self-respecting referee is going to turn down more gold?


Q: If a player holding the ball is turned into a frog as the result of the Zap! spell and the ball is forced to bounce, is a Turnover caused? (p.94)

A: No.


Q: If I have induced a Biased Referee, does this mean my coach cannot be ejected when Arguing the Call as the Biased Referee gives a bonus of +1 when rolling to Argue the Call, and the coach is only ejected on the roll of a 1? Or is a natural 1 always a failure? (p.95)

A: A natural 1 is not always a failure when rolling to Argue the Call, so having a Biased Referee means that the coach cannot be ejected as they will always receive the +1 to the roll.


Q: For scoring additional League points, will a team score the additional +1 for conceding 0 touchdowns only if their opponent concedes the game having not scored a touchdown, or does this mean that a team simply needs to not concede a touchdown during the game (i.e., 1-0, 2-0, 3-0, etc.)? (p.98)

A: A team will score this bonus League point if their opponent fails to score any touchdowns.


Q: When re-hiring players, does the agent's fee of 20,000 gold pieces apply for each previous season including the one that has just finished? (p.100)

A: Yes.


Q: When re-drafting a team, are a player's agent's fees (the +20,000 gold pieces per season they have played) Added to the Team Draft list, or is the +20,000 gold pieces only used for initially re-hiring the player in question? (p.100)

A: Only for re-hiring a player in question. So, a player that is worth 50,000 gold pieces could be hired for 70,000 gold pieces from your budget in their second season, but would still be worth 50,000 gold pieces on the Team Draft list.


Q: Can a team with the Masters of Undeath special rule still attempt to Raise the Dead if the Necromancer has been Sent Off? (p.106)

A: Yes.


Q: If one half of Grak & Crumbleberry or the Swift Twins is KO'd or suffers a Casualty, then the other replaces their Loner (4+) trait with Loner (2+). Does this revert back to Loner (4+) if the KO'd or Casualtied player returns to the pitch in any way, such as recovering from being Knocked-out or through the use of an apothecary, or does it remain as Loner (2+)? (p.130 & 133)

A: It will remain as Loner (2+).


Q: Can Griff Oberwald's Consummate Professional special rule force an opposition player to re-roll a dice? (p.130)

A: No, it can only be used to re-roll a dice rolled by Griff Oberwald himself.


Q: Can Griff Oberwald use his Consummate Professional special rule to re-roll the roll to see if he recovers from being Knocked-out? (p.130)

A: No.


Q: Hakflem Skuttlespike's special rule, Treacherous, states that if a player is adjacent to Hakflem when he is activated he can use the ability. Does this mean only at the start of Hakflems activation, or at any point during his activation? (p.131)

A: At the start of his activation


Q: If Lord Borak the Despoiler is KO'd or removed as a Casualty and then subsequently returns to the pitch, does he still lose his re-roll? (p.131)

A: Yes, although the KO'd will only remove him temporarily, he has still been removed from play.


Q: What happens if Grombrindal gives the Mighty Blow (+1) skill to a player that already has that skill? (p.133)

A: It will have no effect


Q: Can Grombrindal use his Wisdom of the White Dwarf to give another Star Player one of the listed skills? (p.133)

A: Yes! Even the most decorated of players can benefit from the glorious wisdom of the White Dwarf!

DEATH ZONE

Q: What happens if a player already has one but not both of the Skills it temporarily gains when it is affected by Papa Skullbones' "By the Power of the Gods!" special rule? (p.16)

A: The player will gain the one it doesn't already have until the end of the drive


Q: What happens if a player who already has the Loner (X+) trait gains the Loner (2+) trait as a result of Schielund Scharlitan's "I'll Make You A Star!" rule? (p.21)

A: The player will keep their standard Loner (X+) trait instead. They will not replace it with the Loner (2+) trait.


Q: Can the Rampant Mutation spell be used on a Star Player to try to give them two random Mutations? (p.23)

A: No.


Q: If a player holding the ball is turned into a frog as the result of the Zap! spell and the ball is forced to bounce, is a Turnover caused? (p.28)

A: No.


Q: What happens if, when Horatio X. Schottenheim casts his "Take This! Ooops..." spell, the target square would scatter off the pitch? (p.32)

A: The spell detonates in the crowd but does not hit any players on the pitch It has no effect


Q: If a player is pushed by a Waaagh! Drummer, can they still use Skills that would come into effect when that player would be pushed such as Sidestep or Stand Firm? (p.36)

A: Yes.


Q: What happens if a player already has all the Skills it temporarily gains when it is affected by a Dwarfen Runesmith's Dwarfen Runes special rule? (p.37)

A: Nothing. The rune is wasted and has no effect.


Q: What happens if the shot from the Halfling Hot Pot scatters off the pitch? (p.37)

A: The crowd gets covered in piping hot stew, but otherwise nothing happens. There is no effect.


Q: If I roll a 1 after determining the target square for the shot from a Halfling Hot Pot and something goes horribly wrong, is it D3 randomly selected players from either dugout that are affected, or just from my own dugout? (p.37)

A: From your own dugout only.


Q: Can I use Bottles of Heady Brew on my opponent's players with the Stunty trait to give them the listed Skills and Traits? (p.39)

A: No. Bottles of Heady Brew can only be used on your own players with the Stunty trait.


Q: Can a team use petty cash as the stake for a Side Bet? (p.39)

A: No. A Side Bet can only be funded from a team's Treasury.


Q: During a move action, can the Giant Mercenary Player Inducement (Death Zone page 54) change facing while not physically moving any squares (i.e., spend 0 of their MA to change facing while staying in place (or while standing up) and then end their activation)? (p.55)

A: Yes, it may change its facing without having to move any squares.


Q: In a game of Blood Bowl Sevens, can the ball be placed in the Centre Field during the kick-off? (p.93)

A: Yes.


Q: In Blood Bowl Sevens, if the ball would land in a square in the area between both Lines of Scrimmage, and a High Kick result is rolled on the Kick-off Event table, can a player on the receiving team still be placed in the square where the ball is going to land? (p.94)

A: Yes.


Q: In Blood Bowl Sevens, can a player with the On the Ball skill use it to move into the area between both Lines of Scrimmage? (p.94)

A: Yes.

DUNGEON BOWL

Designer's Note Dungeon Bowl has been designed to use the same core rules as Blood Bowl, just with the removal of any irrelevant rules to the setting, and its own batch of unique rules added in. As a result, any FAQs for the Blood Bowl rulebook will also apply to the Dungeon Bowl rulebook.

Q: Can a team re-roll be used to re-roll when seeing which Portal a player comes out of when they teleport? (p.32)

A: No.


Q: Can a player with the No Hands trait open a Chest? (p.71)

A: No.


Q: If a player on a portal is Rooted as per the Take Root trait, and then subsequently teleported (such as by a chain reaction), are they still considered to be Rooted? (p.73)

A: No.

SPIKE! MAGAZINE ISSUE 13 - KHORNE

Q: Can GrashnakGrashnak Blackhoof use his Gored by the Bull special rule to roll an additional Block dice (to a maximum of 3) After rolling the Block dice for a Block action? (p.11)

A: No. The special rule must be used before any Block dice are rolled.


Q: Can GrashnakGrashnak Blackhoof use his Gored by the Bull special rule when he would be rolling 2 Block dice where the opposing coach would choose the result (i.e., his ST is lower than that of the target of his Block action) in order to only roll a single Block dice? (p.11)

A: No.


Q: When Scyla Anfingrimm uses his Fury of the Blood God special rule to perform two Block actions, is the first Block action made in its entirety (including the use of the Frenzy skill) before the second Block action is made? (p.14)

A: Yes.

SPIKE! MAGAZINE ISSUE 14 - NORSE

Q: Does a Prone player on a Norse team roll a D6 for each Beer Boar they are in range of as per the Pick-me-up trait, or only a single D6 regardless of the number of Beer Boars they are in range of? (p.5)

A: Just one D6.


Q: If a Beer Boar stands up as a result of another Beer Boar's Pick-me-up trait, can other team-mates now benefit from its own Pick-me-up trait? (p.5)

A: No.


Q: Can Ivar Eriksson use his Raiding Party special rule to target himself if he is Open as the rule doesnJt specify it must be one other player on his team? (p.11)

A: Yes So long as he is Open Ivar may target himself with his Raiding Party special rule


Q: If a player moves into a square in which the ball is placed as a result of Ivar Eriksson's Raiding Party special rule, do they have to try and pick up the ball and, if they do, do they ignore the modifiers to the Agility check provided by opposing player's Tackle Zones? (p.11)

A: They must try and pick up the ball and they will be affected by the modifiers provided by opposing player's Tackle Zones.


Q: If a player is removed as a casualty by Skrorg Snowpelt and then subsequently patched by an apothecary, does his team still gain the team re-roll from his Pump up the Crowd special rule? (p.14)

A: Yes.


SPIKE! MAGAZINE ISSUE 15 - AMAZON

Q: Can the Hit and Run trait be used as part of a Blitz action? (p.5)

A: Yes, as Hit and Run can be used during a Block action. A Blitz action contains a Block action.


Q: Can Hit and Run be used after a Block performed by a player with the Frenzy skill resulting in a Push Back, in order to move away from the targeted player and not perform the second Block? (p.5)

A: No. Frenzy requires the player to have to follow up and perform the second Block. Hit and Run may be used after this second Block as normal, if applicable.


Q: When a player is affected by Estelle la Veneaux's Baleful Hex special rule, does this mean the player must be activated last during their next team turn, or that the player cannot be activated at all during their next team turn? (p.11)

A: The player cannot be activated at all during their next team turn.


Q: Does a player with the Hit and Run trait move their one free square before or after following up as part of a Block or Blitz action? (p.5)

A: After following up.


Q: If a player uses the Hit and Run trait to move out of the Tackle Zone of a player with the Tentacles skill, does the player with Tentacles get to use the Skill? (p.5)

A: No.

SPIKE! MAGAZINE ISSUE 16 – VAMPIRES

Q: Does the Running Pass skill allow a player with the Bloodlust (X+) trait to continue moving after biting a Thrall and then performing a Pass? (p.5)

A: Yes.


Q: If a player with the Bloodlust (X+) trait ends their activation Prone, can they still bite a Thrall? (p.5)

A: No. A player with the Bloodlust (X+) trait must be standing in order to bite a Thrall.


Q: What happens if a player with the Bloodlust (X+) trait fails the Bloodlust roll and is then placed Prone as a result of the Wrestle skill during a Block action? (p.5)

A: Then the player with the Bloodlust (X+) has been unable to bite a Thrall, a Turnover is caused and the Vampire will lose their Tackle Zone until they are next activated.


Q: What happens if a player with the Bloodlust (X+) trait fails the Bloodlust roll and is forced to end their activation early? (p.5)

A: Then the player with the Bloodlust (X+) trait has been unable to bite a Thrall, Turnover is caused and the Vampire will lose their Tackle Zone until they are next activated and will immediately drop the ball if they were holding it.


Q: If a player with the Bloodlust (X+) trait begins their Activation Prone, do they still need to roll for Bloodlust? (p.5)

A: Yes.


Q: If a player with the Bloodlust (X+) trait fails the roll for Bloodlust, can they continue to Move after biting a Thrall in order to score, make a Pass Action, or reposition? (p.5)

A: No. After a model has bitten a Thrall, they may Move no further; unless they have a rule that specifically states otherwise (such as Running Pass).


Q: What happens when a player with the Bloodlust (X+) trait targets a player with the Foul Appearance skill and fails both the Bloodlust roll and the Foul Appearance roll? (p.5)

A: The player must first take the Bloodlust roll; if this is failed, they may choose to change their declared action to a Move Action, in which case they will not need to roll for Foul Appearance. If they do not, then they will need to roll for Foul Appearance as normal; if this is failed, then their action is wasted and their Activation will end. This will result in a Turnover if they are unable to bite an adjacent Thrall Teammate.


Q: Which players count as Dwarfs for Ivan 'the Animal' Deathshroud's Dwarfen Scourge special rule? (p.30)

A: Well, if it looks like a Dwarf, walks like a Dwarf and holds grudges like a Dwarf, then it is probably a Dwarf! However, just in case there are any doubts, the following players are considered Dwarfs; Dwarf Blocker Lineman; Dwarf Runners; Dwarf Blitzers; Troll Slayers; Deathrollers; Old World Dwarf Blockers; Old World Dwarf Runners; Old World Dwarf Troll Slayers; Chaos Dwarf Blockers; Bull Centaur Blitzers; Grim Ironjaw; Skrull Halfheight; Grombrindal, the White Dwarf and Josef Bugman. In addition, any player who has Dwarf in their position name, or any Player who is described as being a Dwarf in their background, should be considered a Dwarf for the purpose of Ivan's special rule.

SPIKE! MAGAZINE ISSUE 17 – GNOMES

Q: When a player uses the Trickster trait, does the player being removed from the pitch and then placed again count as the player moving? (p.5)

A: No; it is a placement not a movement. As such, any rules that interact with a player moving, such as the Shadowing or Tentacles skills, will not come into effect.


Q: If a player uses the Trickster trait and places themselves in a square containing the ball, do they attempt to pick it up? (p.5)

A: No; it is a placement not a movement. As such, the ball will immediately bounce in the same manner as if the player had been pushed back.

SPIKE! PRESENTS 2021 ALMANAC

Q: Can GrashnakGrashnak Blackhoof use his Gored by the Bull special rule to roll an additional Block dice (to a maximum of 3) After rolling the Block dice for a Block action? (p.91)

A: No The special rule must be used before any Block dice are rolled


Q: Can GrashnakGrashnak Blackhoof use his Gored by the Bull special rule when he would be rolling 2 Block dice where the opposing coach would choose the result (i.e., his ST is lower than that of the target of his Block action) in order to only roll a single Block dice? (p.91)

A: No.


Q: When Scyla Anfingrimm uses his Fury of the Blood God special rule to perform two Block actions, is the first Block action made in its entirety (including the use of the Frenzy skill) before the second Block action is made? (p.94)

A: Yes.


Q: If Kreek 'the Verminator' Rustgouger is Sent-off as per the Secret Weapon trait, but his coach successfully Argues the Call, can he still use his I'll Be Back! special rule the next time he is Sent-off as per the Secret Weapon trait? (p.132)

A: No.

SPIKE! ALMANAC 2022

Q: Can Ivar Eriksson use his Raiding Party special rule to target himself if he is Open as the rule doesnJt specify it must be one other player on his team? (p.15)

A: Yes So long as he is Open Ivar may target himself with his Raiding Party special rule


Q: Does a player with the Hit and Run trait move their one free square before or after following up as part of a Block or Blitz action? (p.47)

A: After following up


Q: If Cindy Piewhistle declares she is using her All You Can Eat special rule, but hits herself with the first Throw Bomb Special action (either through a Fumble or by being caught in the explosion) does she still roll to be ejected, and does she still count as having used her special rule? (p.82)

A: Cindy will not roll to be ejected as this roll is only made after the second Throw Bomb Special action which has not been performed in this instance However she will still count as having used her special rule as it was declared at the beginning of her activation


Q: Does Nobbla Blackwart have to declare a Blitz action if he wishes to move before using his "Kick 'em while they're down!" special rule against a Prone or Stunned opponent? (p.90)

A: Yes.

ERRATA NOVEMBER 2023

The following errata correct errors in the Blood Bowl rulebook any issues of Spike! Journal and any supplements associated with the Second Season Edition of the game.

The errata are updated regularly; when changes are made any changes from the previous version will be highlighted in magenta. Where the update has a note, e.g., "Regional updateJ, this means it has had a local update, only in that language, to clarify a translation issue or other minor correction.

BLOOD BOWL RULEBOOK

  • Page 38 - Inducements - Opening paragraph, Petty Cash & Treasury

  • Replace these sections with the following:

Ahead of any league fixture, play-off game, or friendly, teams may get the opportunity to spend gold pieces from their Treasury or Petty Cash (or both) to purchase Inducements. If one team has a lower CTV (including the value of any Journeymen players) then it will be given 'petty cash' to spend on Inducements. To work out how much petty cash a team will receive, follow the steps below in order:

  • The team with the higher CTV gets the opportunity to spend any gold pieces from their Treasury to purchase any Inducements.
  • The team with the lower CTV then gets an amount of petty cash equal to the difference in CTV between the two teams, plus an amount equal to the amount of gold the other team spent from its Treasury.
  • The team with the lower CTV can then spend this petty cash on Inducements, though any petty cash not spent is lost. They may not spend gold pieces from their Treasury.

  • Page 54 - Landing in an Occupied Square

  • Replace this section with the following:

If after the scatter has been resolved, the thrown player lands in an occupied square:

  • The player occupying the square is Knocked Down (an Armour roll and possible Injury roll is made against them even if they were already Prone or Stunned). If the player occupying the square is a team-mate then a Turnover will be caused.
  • The thrown player will bounce (as if they were the ball) from the square they land in and will automatically be Knocked Down upon landing; however, unlike normally when a player is Knocked Down during their own team turn, this will not cause a Turnover unless the thrown player was holding the ball.
  • Should the thrown player bounce into another occupied square, the above process is repeated.

  • Page 61 - Characteristic Reduction

  • Change the second paragraph to read:

In the case of Movement Allowance or Strength, the characteristic is simply reduced by 1. In the case of Agility or Passing Ability, the target number is raised by 1. For example, if a player with AG4+ suffers a Neck Injury, the characteristic would become AG5+. In the case of Armour Value, the target number is lowered by 1. For example, if a player with AV9+ suffers a Head Injury, the characteristic would become AV8+.


  • Page 64 - Stalling

  • Change point 4 to read:

4. If the player is able to move into the opposition's End Zone without needing to roll any dice. This includes, but is not limited to, the player having to Dodge, Leap, Rush, Jump over a Prone player or Blitz.


  • Page 75 - Jump Up

  • Add the following sentence:

This Skill may still be used if the player is Prone or has lost their Tackle Zone.


  • Page 75 - Safe Pair of Hands

  • Add the following sentence:

This Skill may still be used if the player is Prone.


  • Page 75 - Sneaky Git

  • Remove the second paragraph.


  • Page 78 - Foul Appearance

  • Add the following sentence:

This Skill may still be used if the player is Prone, Stunned, or has lost their Tackle Zone.


  • Page 78 - Iron Hard Skin

  • Add the following sentence:

This Skill may still be used if the player is Prone, Stunned, or has lost their Tackle Zone.


  • Page 80 – Guard

  • Change to read:

When a player performs a Block Action (including as part of a Blitz Action) this player can offer both offensive and defensive assists regardless of how many opposition players are Marking them.


  • Page 82 - Ball and Chain

  • Add the following sentence:

This Trait must still be used if the player is Prone or has lost their Tackle Zone.


  • Page 83 - Bombardier

  • Change the third bullet point in the final set of bullet points to read:

Any Standing players hit by the explosion are Placed Prone.


  • Page 83 - Bombardier

  • Add the following bullet point:

If the player performing the Throw Bomb Special action is hit by their bomb and Placed Prone, either as the result of a Fumbled throw or by being hit by the explosion, then a Turnover is caused.


  • Page 83 - Bombardier

  • Remove the final bullet point which reads:

You may apply a +1 modifier to either the Armour roll or Injury roll. This modifier may be applied after the roll has been made.


  • Page 84 - Chainsaw

  • Add the following to the second bullet point:

This will result in a Turnover.


  • Page 85 - Loner (X+)

  • Add the following sentence:

This Trait must still be used if the player is Prone or has lost their Tackle Zone.


  • Page 86 - Regeneration

  • Add the following sentence:

This Trait may still be used if the player is Prone, Stunned, or has lost their Tackle Zone.


  • Page 86 - Right Stuff

  • Add the following sentence:

This Trait may still be used if the player is Prone, Stunned, or has lost their Tackle Zone.


  • Page 86 - Stunty

  • Add the following sentence:

This Trait must still be used if the player is Prone, Stunned, or has lost their Tackle Zone.


  • Page 87 - Swarming

  • Add the following:

Swarming players must be set up in their team's half.

When using Swarming, a coach may not set up more players with the Swarming trait onto the pitch than the number of friendly players with the Swarming trait that were already set up. So, if a team had 2 players with the Swarming trait already set up on the pitch, and then rolled for 3 more players to enter the pitch via Swarming, only a maximum of 2 more Swarming players could be set up on the pitch.


  • Page 87 - Timmm-ber!

  • Add the following sentence:

This Trait may still be used if the player is Prone or has lost their Tackle Zone.


  • Page 92 - Star Players

  • Add the following to the end of the second paragraph:

Star players that must be hired as a pair (such as Dribl & Drull or the Swift Twins) only count as a single Star player choice. However, they will still take up two spaces on a team's Team Roster.


  • Page 92 – Inducements – Halfling Master Chef

  • Change cost to the following:

300,000 gold pieces (100,000 gold pieces for Halfling teams), available to any team.


  • Page 94 - Wizard - Fireball

  • Replace the first sentence with the following:

You may cast this spell at the end of either player's team turn, before the next team turn begins.


  • Page 100 - Re-draft

  • Add the following to the end of the section:

A team's Dedicated Fans value will carry over onto the new Team Draft list. Teams do not have to pay for these, they are free - though they will still affect a team's Team Value.


  • Page 114 – Bomma – Primary and Secondary

  • Add Passing skills to Primary. Remove Passing skills from Secondary.


  • Page 127 – Underworld Denizens Teams

Underworld Snotlings

  • Remove the Swarming trait.

  • Page 131 - Hakflem Skuttlespike

  • Change the GP to induce to 210,000


  • Page 132 - Morg 'n' Thorg

  • Change the GP to induce to 380,000

DEATH ZONE

  • Page 19 - Ayleen Andar

  • Change the second sentence to read:

Roll a D6 for each, applying a -1 modifier to the roll for each Journeyman taken on after the first:


  • Page 23 - Chaos Sorcerer - Thunderbolt

  • Replace the first sentence with the following:

You may cast this spell at the end of either player's team turn, before the next team turn begins.


  • Page 24 - Druchii Sports Sorceress - Thunderbolt

  • Replace the first sentence with the following:

You may cast this spell at the end of either player's team turn, before the next team turn begins.


  • Page 25 - Asur High Mage - Thunderbolt

  • Replace the first sentence with the following:

You may cast this spell at the end of either player's team turn, before the next team turn begins.


  • Page 27 - Horticulturist of Nurgle - Strange Flora

  • Replace the first sentence with the following:

You may cast this spell at the end of either player's team turn, before the next team turn begins.


  • Page 27 - Sports Necrotheurge - Incorporeal

  • Replace the first sentence with the following:

You may cast this spell at the end of either player's team turn, before the next team turn begins.


  • Page 29 - Warlock Engineer - Warp Lightning

  • Replace the first sentence with the following:

You may cast this spell at the end of either player's team turn, before the next team turn begins.


  • Page 29 - Warlock Engineer - Thunderbolt

  • Replace the first sentence with the following:

You may cast this spell at the end of either player's team turn, before the next team turn begins.


  • Page 30 - Ogre Firebelly - Fireball

  • Replace the first sentence with the following:

You may cast this spell at the end of either player's team turn, before the next team turn begins.


  • Page 30 - Ogre Firebelly - Column of Fire

  • Replace the first sentence with the following:

You may cast this spell at the end of either player's team turn, before the next team turn begins.


  • Page 31 - Night Goblin Shaman - Foot of Gork (or Mork)

  • Replace the first sentence with the following:

You may cast this spell at the end of either player's team turn, before the next team turn begins.


  • Page 32 - Horatio X. Schottenheim - "Take This! Ooops..."

  • Replace the second sentence with the following:

Horatio may cast this spell at the end of either player's team turn, before the next team turn begins.


  • Page 43 - Stunty Superstars - Characteristic Options

  • Change the first sentence to read:

Any Stunty Superstar may improve or reduce any characteristic as follows. Each option may be chosen a maximum of once:


  • Page 45 - Legendary Linemen - Characteristic Options

  • Change the first sentence to read:

Any Legendary Lineman may improve or reduce any characteristic as follows. Each option may be chosen a maximum of once:


  • Page 47 - Brutal Blockers - Characteristic Options

  • Change the first sentence to read:

Any Brutal Blocker may improve or reduce any characteristic as follows. Each option may be chosen a maximum of once:


  • Page 49 - Reliable Ringers - Characteristic Options

  • Change the first sentence to read:

Any Reliable Ringer may improve or reduce any characteristic as follows. Each option may be chosen a maximum of once:


  • Page 51 - Bona Fide Big Guy - Characteristic Options

  • Change the first sentence to read:

Any Bona Fide Big Guy may improve or reduce any characteristic as follows. Each option may be chosen a maximum of once:


  • Page 54 - Giants - Base Size and Tackle Zones

  • Add the following at the end of second paragraph:

Whenever a Giant finishes a Move action or follows up after a Block action, they may change their facing if they wish; though if done as part of following up after a Block action, they must still be Marking the player they made the Block action against if possible.


  • Page 94 - Blood Bowl Sevens - Set-up

  • Add the following:

When the kicking team kicks off, a touchback will be caused if the ball leaves the pitch or crosses the Line of Scrimmage into the kicking team's third. If the ball lands in a square in the area between both Lines of Scrimmage, no touchback is caused.


  • Page 97 - Desperate Measures - Razzle-dazzle

  • Change the last sentence to read:

This player may perform two actions rather than one, but may not perform the same action twice. Additionally, a player may not perform two different actions that both contain a Move action (such as a Blitz action followed by a Move action).

DUNGEON BOWL

Designer's Note Dungeon Bowl has been designed to use the same core rules as Blood Bowl, just with the removal of any irrelevant rules to the setting, and its own batch of unique rules added in. As a result, any errata for the Blood Bowl rulebook will also apply to the Dungeon Bowl rulebook.

  • Page 98 - College of Life Team Roster - Snotling Lineman

  • Add the Titchy trait.

SPIKE! MAGAZINE ISSUE 13 - KHORNE

  • Page 14 - Scyla Anfingrimmm

  • Change text under Plays For to (Favoured of Khorne).

  • Page 30 - Max Spleenripper

  • Change text under Plays For to (Favoured of Khorne).

SPIKE! JOURNAL ISSUE 14 - NORSE

  • Page 33 - Norse Raider Linemen - Skills & Traits

  • Add the Thick Skull trait.

SPIKE! PRESENTS 2021 ALMANAC

  • Page 94 - Scyla Anfingrimmm

  • Change text under Plays For to (Favoured of Khorne).


  • Page 110 - Max Spleenripper

  • Change text under Plays For to (Favoured of Khorne).


  • Page 130 - Barik Farblast

  • Swap the Strong Arm skill for Cannoneer.

BLOOD BOWL MATCHED PLAY GUIDE

  • Page 14 - Star Players

  • Add the following to the end of the first paragraph:

Star players that must be hired as a pair (such as Dribl & Drull or the Swift Twins) only count as a single Star player choice, and therefore only cost 2 Skill Points for the pair. However, they will still take up two spaces on a team's Team Roster.

SPIKE! ISSUE 15 - AMAZONS

  • Page 33 - Piranha Warrior Blitzer - Cost

  • Change to 90,000


  • Page 33 - Jaguar Warrior Blitzer - Cost

  • Change to 110,000

SPIKE! MAGAZINE ISSUE 16 – VAMPIRES

  • Page 5
  • Replace the first sentence with the following: “Whenever a player with this Trait activates, even if they are Prone or have lost their Tackle Zone, after declaring their action, they must roll a D6, adding 1 to the roll if they declared a Block action or a Blitz action.”
  • Page 9

  • Change the Stats and Skills & Traits of Natasha Ilyich to:

MA ST AG PA AV Skills & Traits
8 3 2+ 4+ 8+ Bloodlust (2+), Dodge, Hypnotic Gaze, Regeneration
  • Change the Stats and Skills & Traits of Kristina Petrovna to:
MA ST AG PA AV Skills & Traits
8 3 2+ 4+ 8+ Bloodlust (2+), Dodge, Hypnotic Gaze, Regeneration, Sidestep

SPIKE! ALMANAC 2022

  • Page 75 - Piranha Warrior Blitzer - Cost

  • Change to 90,000


  • Page 75 - Jaguar Warrior Blitzer - Cost

  • Change to 110,000

OLD WORLD ALLIANCE CARD PACK

  • Punch Up Buddies

  • Change text under Effect with to “Choose a player on your team that provided an offensive assist against the player who was just Knocked Down, and is still Marking the Knocked Down player. The chosen player may immediately perform a Foul action. This does not count as your team's Foul action for the turn.”

TIER LIST MAY 2024

Here we present an updated tier list for all of the teams within Blood Bowl This will be updated alongside each update to ensure that the tiers each team are in are as up to date and accurate as they can be if an event organised by Games Workshop makes use of tiers as part of its rulespack then the ones listed here will be the ones that are used.

When a team has changed tiers from the previous update they will be highlighted in magenta.

TIER 1 TIER 2 TIER 3
Amazon Black Orc Gnome
Chaos Dwarf* Chaos Chosen Goblin
Dark Elf Chaos Renegades Halfling
Dwarf Elven Union Ogre
High Elf* Human Snotling
Lizardmen Imperial Nobility
Norse Khorne
Shambling Undead Necromantic Horror
Skaven Nurgle
Underworld Denizens Old World Alliance
Wood Elves Orc
Tomb Kings*
Vampire

*The rules for this team can be found in the Teams of Legend PDF on warhammer-community.com.

Here we present the list of Star Players that are considered to be 'Mega stars' in regards to the rules presented on page 14 of the Blood Bowl Matched Play Guide for tournament play. We will constantly assess the impact of Star Players and will update this list alongside each update to ensure that the Star Players that are considered to be Mega stars are as up to date and as accurate as can be If an event is organised by Games Workshop then it will use this list here to determine which Star Players are considered to be Mega stars

When a Star Player is added to this list it will be highlighted in magenta.

MEGA-STARS

  • Bomber Dribblesnot
  • Cindy Piewhistle
  • Deeproot Strongbranch
  • Griff Oberwald
  • Hakflem Skuttlespike
  • Kreek 'the Verminator' Rustgouger
  • Morg 'n' Thorg